Three Stars And A Sun: What Do They Mean?

The famous “Three Stars and a Sun” was originally a symbol of the Katipuneros fighting for the independence of the country. The three stars signify the three principal islands of the archipelago during the time the flag was first flown: Luzon, Mindanao, and Panay. The sun symbolizes the efforts of all the revolutionaries who shed their blood for the country, and its eight rays signify the eight provinces who were principal members of the revolution- Manila, Cavite, Bulacan, Pampanga, Nueva Ecija, Bataan, Laguna, and Batangas.

The white triangle, long a symbol of change (∆) and of the Katipunan, was adopted during the final stages of the flag’s completion. The colors red, white, and blue signify the Philippines’ gratitude towards the United States for their disinterested help in our liberation and fighting for freedom by our side.