The Taj Mahal of Negros
Belle Piccio | Apr 12, 2013
The Ruins is what is left of the grand mansion of a Negrense sugar baron, Don Mariano Ledesma Lacson (1865-1948).
The mansion was built in the early 1900s and was set on fire during the early part of World War II by Filipino guerilla fighters to prevent Japanese forces from using it as headquarters.
A brochure of the place says that “The structure of The Ruins is of Italianate architecture with neo-Romanesque columns, having a very close semblance to the facade of Carnegie Hall in New York City. In New England, they often were homes to ship captains. A belvedere, facing west, affords a beautiful view of the sunset in a glassed-in sunroom with bay windows.”
The Ruins is located at Hacienda Sta. Maria, Talisay City, Negros Occidental. The 903-square meter structure still stands tall in the middle of the sugar plantation and was opened to the public both local and foreign tourists last January 2008.
Did you know that The Ruins ranked 12th place among the world’s fascinating ruins? It was listed in www.oddee.com, a blog site that features the odd, strange and bizarre things of the world.
A historical landmark, it has now become one of the favorite venues for photo shoots, special events, weddings, conferences and parties. The Ruins is open from 8:30am to 8:00pm daily. Entrance fee is PhP50 per head. For booking and inquiries, call (034) 476-4334 or (+63) 917-832-6003.
(The Ruins photo by Dustin Mijares)